Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Noob/New setup opinions

  1. #1
    Casual HD User
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Noob/New setup opinions


    Hi Everyone,

    I'm new here and a noob. I found this site after I ordered everything so I am hoping I made some good choices on the speakers.

    I just got the new system and am looking for any opinions on the system I assembled. And If I should have gone a different direction with any of my choices or could have done better for the prices. Everything is hooked up except the surround speakers which were just delivered yesterday and the everything looks and sounds great so far, so I am hoping after I get the surrounds hooked up it will be even better.

    Panasonic TC-P65ST30 $2500
    Denon AVR-1912 $549
    Energy CF-50 Tower Fronts $219 each (got these for 50% off)
    Energy CC-10 Center $319
    Energy ESW-C10 Sub $419
    Definitive Technology SR-8040BP Surrounds $249 each

    I also got the Vodka and Carbon HDMI cables (I feel like I way overpaid for these) to hook up my:
    Direct TV HD DVR
    Sony BluRay player

    Thanks in advance for any and all opinions.

    And thank you for this site full of great information!!

  2. #2
    Administrator CALIBER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Olympia Washington
    Posts
    3,533
    Thanks
    1,225
    Thanked 524 Times in 433 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Noob/New setup opinions

    Welcome to the board bill420247!!! I think you have done very well, honestly you could have purchased your hdmi cables from www.monoprice.com for just a few dollars and been fine. Other than that the only thing I would critique is your sub. It is not a bad sub I know because I used to own it, but you could have done better for the money IMO. If you are interested here are the links

    LINK
    LINK
    LINK
    LINK
    LINK

    I think you did great on the loudspeakers they are performers for the money that is for sure!
    Magnepan, B&K, Emotiva, HSU

  3. #3
    Casual HD User
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Noob/New setup opinions

    Thanks for the reply caliberconst.

    I guess how much of a difference there would be between the subs you had links to and the one I have is what would matter. To return the one I have and pay shipping etc. is alot to go thru if the gain is not huge so I am cool with what I have, even if I may have paid a little too much.

    As for HDMI cables - After reading on here I am kinda pissed to be that misled if there is not a huge difference in picture and sound quality thru much much cheaper HDMI cables. I will buy the less expensive ones and return the 2 vodka and 1 carbon and get my $1000 refunded. I was very surprised about this as they had me hooked in all the way.

    What ware the best cables to buy from Monoprice, with the money I will get back it form the high priced ones it seems I can certainly afford the best they have to offer.
    Is there anything special I should know about HDMI cables other than I got suckered?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator GOS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois
    Age
    51
    Posts
    29,377
    Thanks
    3,150
    Thanked 2,557 Times in 2,070 Posts
    Rep Power
    39

    Default Re: Noob/New setup opinions

    Dude - get the cheap HDMI from Monoprice. Many of us have purchased those and never had issues. I've owned probably 13 HDMI from Monoprice(ballpark $5 a piece) and only 1 has failed. I mean, it failed after a year. Otherwise, I can't tell the difference...sound or video.
    Denon AVR-988 * Harmony ONE
    Klipsch RF-82 II front * RC3 center * RP3 surrounds * KEF HTS1001 rear
    Rythmik Audio DS1501 CI sub
    Oppo BDP-103
    Samsung LN46B550 LCD


    RIP STEVEN 12/26/2013

  5. #5
    Super Moderator mytime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Jackson MO
    Posts
    10,383
    Thanks
    599
    Thanked 881 Times in 723 Posts
    Rep Power
    19

    Default Re: Noob/New setup opinions

    Quote Originally Posted by GOS View Post
    Dude - get the cheap HDMI from Monoprice. Many of us have purchased those and never had issues. I've owned probably 13 HDMI from Monoprice(ballpark $5 a piece) and only 1 has failed. I mean, it failed after a year. Otherwise, I can't tell the difference...sound or video.
    Same here. All my HDMI come from monoprice.
    L2W you will be missed.

  6. #6
    Casual HD User
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Noob/New setup opinions

    So the HDMI cables at monoprice which are all like under $10 are no different than my Vodka Audioquest HDMI cables with ethernet, audio return and 3D?
    And what about the sub cable they had me buy for $79.99?
    And the $79.99 50ft wire for my surround speakers?
    Did they get me there too?

    Can you recommend a good sub cable and rear surround wire?

    I bought:
    $294.99 1m Vodka
    $379.99 2m Vodka
    $169.99 1m Carbon
    $79.99 3m sub cable
    $79.99 50 ft of wire for rear surround speakers
    $59.99 30 for front speakers
    $1064.94 Total for cables and wires

    This HDMI cable on mono price looks the most similar and looks like the best one offered:
    $9.67 Each for 6ft 24AWG CL2 Silver Plated High Speed HDMI Cable - Black

    3 of these would cost $29.01 with a a savings of $815.96 over the Audioquest HDMI cables, WOW! If that is the case then that seems criminal to lie to people in that way. I can hardly believe the stores are misleading customers in that way especially in this economy. Taking advantage of people like that is plain wrong. I will be ordering these monoprice cables and taking the Vodka and Carbon cable back right away. It is worth the $30 just to test it to see if there is a difference.

    Please let me know if I got sold hard with no lube so I can undo it while I still can.

    Thank you so much!!!!

  7. #7
    Casual HD User
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Noob/New setup opinions

    If you're ok with returning what you've already bought, I'd consider returning the Denon 1912 and phoning (you have to call) Electronics Expo (authorized dealer) and getting the Denon 2112CI for about $100 less. That gets you more features and an extra year of warranty.

  8. #8
    FATHER TIMELESS ImRizzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    The Eastern End of Long Island NY
    Age
    71
    Posts
    29,696
    Thanks
    566
    Thanked 1,595 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Rep Power
    37

    Default Re: Noob/New setup opinions

    Quote Originally Posted by bill420247 View Post
    So the HDMI cables at monoprice which are all like under $10 are no different than my Vodka Audioquest HDMI cables with ethernet, audio return and 3D?
    And what about the sub cable they had me buy for $79.99?
    And the $79.99 50ft wire for my surround speakers?
    Did they get me there too?

    Can you recommend a good sub cable and rear surround wire?

    I bought:
    $294.99 1m Vodka
    $379.99 2m Vodka
    $169.99 1m Carbon
    $79.99 3m sub cable
    $79.99 50 ft of wire for rear surround speakers
    $59.99 30 for front speakers
    $1064.94 Total for cables and wires

    This HDMI cable on mono price looks the most similar and looks like the best one offered:
    $9.67 Each for 6ft 24AWG CL2 Silver Plated High Speed HDMI Cable - Black

    3 of these would cost $29.01 with a a savings of $815.96 over the Audioquest HDMI cables, WOW! If that is the case then that seems criminal to lie to people in that way. I can hardly believe the stores are misleading customers in that way especially in this economy. Taking advantage of people like that is plain wrong. I will be ordering these monoprice cables and taking the Vodka and Carbon cable back right away. It is worth the $30 just to test it to see if there is a difference.

    Please let me know if I got sold hard with no lube so I can undo it while I still can.

    Thank you so much!!!!
    Monoprice also has that sub cable cheap I've been using mine for 3 trouble free yrs
    Sent from my Fisher Price touch&talk~using ITouchmyself II

    Sony XBR 929 ~ Sony XBR8, Denon 3311CI, Mirage V2 speakers w/S10 Sub, Oppo 93, Darbee-5000, SA8300DVR, Harmony 1100 ~

    see my toys !

  9. #9
    R.I.P. Loves2Watch ev666il's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    2,262
    Thanks
    310
    Thanked 1,068 Times in 788 Posts
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Noob/New setup opinions

    Quote Originally Posted by bill420247 View Post
    And what about the sub cable they had me buy for $79.99?
    And the $79.99 50ft wire for my surround speakers?
    Those can make a difference, but they're not prioritarian at this stage

  10. #10
    Administrator CALIBER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Olympia Washington
    Posts
    3,533
    Thanks
    1,225
    Thanked 524 Times in 433 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Noob/New setup opinions

    Quote Originally Posted by bill420247 View Post
    Thanks for the reply caliberconst.

    I guess how much of a difference there would be between the subs you had links to and the one I have is what would matter. To return the one I have and pay shipping etc. is alot to go thru if the gain is not huge so I am cool with what I have, even if I may have paid a little too much.

    As for HDMI cables - After reading on here I am kinda pissed to be that misled if there is not a huge difference in picture and sound quality thru much much cheaper HDMI cables. I will buy the less expensive ones and return the 2 vodka and 1 carbon and get my $1000 refunded. I was very surprised about this as they had me hooked in all the way.

    What ware the best cables to buy from Monoprice, with the money I will get back it form the high priced ones it seems I can certainly afford the best they have to offer.
    Is there anything special I should know about HDMI cables other than I got suckered?
    You know bill420247 it depends on the person in a way, I will say that after owning that sub and hearing the ED A2-250 it is a worthy difference especially if you step up to the A3 250. Difference will be much, much more output much more low frequency extension and bass that is not as "boomy" or "bloated" sounding. Now I haven't heard the a3 250 just the entry level a2 250 and I must say it was very very impressive for the money, and with ED's rep I am sure the A3 250 will be that much better. The energy is a good sub, but I feel you paid too much I picked that sub up for $150 on Amazon a while back. Please not I am not knocking your setup and you will probably be blown away when all hooked up. Either way you go just enjoy it!!!
    Magnepan, B&K, Emotiva, HSU

  11. #11
    HD, the only way to go... House72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8,343
    Thanks
    208
    Thanked 383 Times in 329 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: Noob/New setup opinions


    WIth the money you're going to save from the cables, put it towards a bigger sub if you want/can.
    PSN= Foreniscs80..

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •