Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Considering an Orb System - Opinions?

  1. #1
    Casual HD User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Considering an Orb System - Opinions?


    Started obsessing about a year ago or so over my first and only panel/surround sound system through this board, Best Buy looking and listening visits (What else is there in South Florida?), and WEB prowling. I still have my money and the pleasure/agony or making choices.

    Have pretty much decided on the Panasonic 58" VT25 although I don't think my vision allows me to get everything out of 3D viewing that others with binocular vision do, but the 2D raves are convincing enough for me to think it's worth the leap.

    The sound system to go with it is a more perplexing matter. Could spend much more time listening if there were other places in which to do that, but comparing with all the different variables at work dimishes one's confidence, and the price ranges are staggering. I want a system that's going to produce high quality sound that won't make me continue to pine for my long lost Bose 901's. I have a set of Bose Companion 5's for my laptop which was half of my home theatre system when I lived on my sailboat for a decade. Still use it for decent sound in my house, but here the sound, while with good range and clarity, is "small."

    Have started reading about Orb systems and the reviews they post are glowing. The business model makes sense, and if owners are truthful, it sounds like their speakers might be a good choice for me. The Mod 2's perhaps.

    My living room area, which opens at the TV end into a dining area L, is 21' X 14' X 8'. If anyone here has experience with these speakers, has heard them, or has recommendations regarding the appropriate receiver/amp to go with this set up, I'd love to have your input. Christmas season is rolling around and the prices on the 58 Panny with Blue Ray player are still not too bad right now. I'm getting the bug to make a move on something again. Nobody will ever accuse me of being impulsive.

  2. #2
    HDJ Platinum Club Member gadgtfreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    22,703
    Thanks
    1,607
    Thanked 2,971 Times in 2,304 Posts
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    Before I go on, I wanna say Ive never heard anything about them. That being said, it reminds me of the very small Bose lifestyle setups people rave about. My father in law has one, the nicer one, and my 3.1 system kicks it's ass for about 1/3 the price. I'd be wary of those speakers sounding that good.

    I spent $400 on the two fronts, $200 on the center, and $500 on the sub, and I love it.

    As far as a rcvr goes, I started with Sony, went to Onkyo, and now have a Denon. I'll only own Denon unless they give me a reason to stop. I've not heard Yamaha, and I like the Pioneer receivers.
    RIP STEVEN 12/26/2013
    65" VT50 / BDT460
    X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
    Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
    Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to gadgtfreek For This Useful Post:

    sy_trilogy (10-31-2010)

  4. #3
    Casual HD User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Thanks Elwaylite. While I've been a big Bose fan, I understand from reading here and elsewhere that they no longer use goods they used to and are overpriced. Orb give a 30 day risk free trial seeing as how, unless you go to LA or New York, you can't give them a listen. They have packages with Denon that look pretty good. No other rcvr listed that I saw as an option.

    Not going to jump at this immediately.

    I appreciate your input. Their site is very impressive.

  5. #4
    HDJ Platinum Club Member gadgtfreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    22,703
    Thanks
    1,607
    Thanked 2,971 Times in 2,304 Posts
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    If you have a chance to listen, that'd be the big thing. Same with recievers, some are more "warm" than others (less metallic).
    RIP STEVEN 12/26/2013
    65" VT50 / BDT460
    X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
    Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
    Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to gadgtfreek For This Useful Post:

    sy_trilogy (11-01-2010)

  7. #5
    Casual HD User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I couldn't agree more. The company suggests the best way is to take them in for up to 30 days and give them a try. If you don't like 'em, they'll take them back and refund your money. Since they don't sell via retail outlets, it's the only way one gets to hear them. Of course it's a great "puppy dog" sell.

    I really find the tone of their site noteworthy. There are no attempts at upselling. If anything, they don't push their top of tjhe line items much at all and encourage you to try the standard configurations. There are many testimonials and reviews that speak well of their systems.

    I like "Made in USA" as well. I didn't know we made any audio or video anything anymore!

  8. #6
    HDJ Platinum Club Member gadgtfreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    22,703
    Thanks
    1,607
    Thanked 2,971 Times in 2,304 Posts
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    Oh yeah, still a lot of USA made speakers.
    RIP STEVEN 12/26/2013
    65" VT50 / BDT460
    X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
    Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
    Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

  9. #7
    Super Moderator GOS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois
    Age
    51
    Posts
    29,397
    Thanks
    3,152
    Thanked 2,558 Times in 2,071 Posts
    Rep Power
    39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sy_trilogy View Post
    I couldn't agree more. The company suggests the best way is to take them in for up to 30 days and give them a try. If you don't like 'em, they'll take them back and refund your money. Since they don't sell via retail outlets, it's the only way one gets to hear them. Of course it's a great "puppy dog" sell.

    I really find the tone of their site noteworthy. There are no attempts at upselling. If anything, they don't push their top of tjhe line items much at all and encourage you to try the standard configurations. There are many testimonials and reviews that speak well of their systems.

    I like "Made in USA" as well. I didn't know we made any audio or video anything anymore!
    I've been interested in the Orb's too. I agree, they sound pretty unpretentious on the site. Well, if you do pull the trigger, I would certainly be curious how they sound.
    Denon AVR-988 * Harmony ONE
    Klipsch RF-82 II front * RC3 center * RP3 surrounds * KEF HTS1001 rear
    Rythmik Audio DS1501 CI sub
    Oppo BDP-103
    Samsung LN46B550 LCD


    RIP STEVEN 12/26/2013

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to GOS For This Useful Post:

    sy_trilogy (11-01-2010)

  11. #8
    HDJ Platinum Club Member gadgtfreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    22,703
    Thanks
    1,607
    Thanked 2,971 Times in 2,304 Posts
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    As long as there is no "fine print", the 30 day deal would be worth a try IMO.
    RIP STEVEN 12/26/2013
    65" VT50 / BDT460
    X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
    Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
    Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to gadgtfreek For This Useful Post:

    sy_trilogy (11-01-2010)

  13. #9
    Administrator CALIBER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Olympia Washington
    Posts
    3,533
    Thanks
    1,225
    Thanked 524 Times in 433 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Don't take this the wrong way, but coming from your bose speakers I am sure you will be very impressed with the orb's. As elway said as long as there is no fine print in the 30 day trial you should defiantly give them a try, an in home trial IS the best way to audition speakers after all. Now if you are not comfortable paying before listening there are some other alternatives for "small" speakers.

    The mirage nanostat's and the mx5.1.
    http://www.miragespeakers.com/na-en/...heater-system/
    Paradigm Millenia One
    http://www.paradigm.com/products/par...one-5-0-system
    KEF kht 2005.3
    http://www.kef.com/us/SurroundSound/KHT/2000

    While the KEF and paradigm might be a little bit bigger they are something that you can at least go and audition, just a thought.
    Magnepan, B&K, Emotiva, HSU

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to CALIBER For This Useful Post:

    sy_trilogy (11-01-2010)

  15. #10
    Casual HD User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GOS View Post
    I've been interested in the Orb's too. I agree, they sound pretty unpretentious on the site. Well, if you do pull the trigger, I would certainly be curious how they sound.
    I'll be sure to post an opinion both on the sound as well as the business end of the deal should I move on these. Glad to hear of your opinion of the site as well.

  16. #11
    Casual HD User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by caliberconst. View Post
    Don't take this the wrong way, but coming from your bose speakers I am sure you will be very impressed with the orb's. As elway said as long as there is no fine print in the 30 day trial you should defiantly give them a try, an in home trial IS the best way to audition speakers after all. Now if you are not comfortable paying before listening there are some other alternatives for "small" speakers.

    The mirage nanostat's and the mx5.1.
    http://www.miragespeakers.com/na-en/...heater-system/
    Paradigm Millenia One
    http://www.paradigm.com/products/par...one-5-0-system
    KEF kht 2005.3
    http://www.kef.com/us/SurroundSound/KHT/2000

    While the KEF and paradigm might be a little bit bigger they are something that you can at least go and audition, just a thought.
    Thanks so much for all of the additional information. No worries about taking your comment about Bose the wrong way. So far I've been very happy with the the stuff I've wound up with. Had Bose 901's circa 1972, 4 151's on my sailboat which went across the Atlantic, both ways, above and below deck, and finally the Companion 5's for the laptop (strictly below deck and now in the study).

    I'm enjoying all this searching, but occasionally it begins to feel like a bad career move. I'll might hang on until the Christmas wars are in full swing. Then again I might just continue to hold onto my money. We haven't hit the Beta Max syndrome with all of this with flat panels yet - you know, prices hold and relatively useless features are poured on.

    Thanks for your response.

  17. #12
    Casual HD User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by elwaylite View Post
    As long as there is no "fine print", the 30 day deal would be worth a try IMO.
    I'll look carefully at it and probably be talking with them before I do anything. The Panny and its blue ray player have to be in first as well as the receiver unless I buy a Denon from them as part of a package. I'll be sure they know it's going to be part of a 3D system and should probably have HDMI 1.4a.

    Thanks again for your interest helping with this selection process.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •